---
title: "Guide: Understand Guest Sharing "
url: "https://help.dox2u.com/en/article/guide-understand-guest-sharing"
language: "en"
last_updated: "2022-08-17T05:31:16.600Z"
---

# Guide: Understand Guest Sharing 

dox2U lets you share documents with external guests in a secure and hassle-free way, without needing them to be added to your Workspace. You can invite your guests to view a doc by simply putting in their email. You may also choose to revoke the access based on a pre-defined duration or by manually revoking their access. 

Furthermore, Guest Access is both safe and secure! dox2U lets you know when a guest views your doc and prevents them from taking screenshots of your confidential information. 

Let us see how.

### Sharing Documents with Guests 

> > 📓NOTE: 
> > 
> > -   You can only share the docs with external guests where you are the Owner of the doc has been shared with you.
> > -   You can only share one document at a time with an external guest.  
> > -   The document that has been shared with the guest will have a “Shared with Guest” icon adjacent to it when viewing a list of all documents. ![](https://cdn-assets.productfruits.com//47bf0f7b-be74-40e8-8c70-98be6c714de9) 
> > -   Each document that has been shared with a guest will also have a banner informing you of the same ![](https://cdn-assets.productfruits.com//1e7d0b29-8635-40ae-92b8-39bf83ae7d6b) 
> > -   This functionality depends on your having the right to share docs with external guests. 
> > -   This feature is available only in the dox2U Pro plan. If you would like to utilise this feature, you will have to upgrade your current plan to dox2U Pro. 
> > -   This is a [right-based functionality](https://help.dox2u.com/en/article/understanding-roles-rights-in-dox2u) 
> 
> Let us see how. 
> 
> To share your documents with external guests, follow these steps:
> 
> **Step 1:** Select the document that you want to share. 
> 
> **Step 2:** Click the menu button ![](https://cdn-assets.productfruits.com//106f1130-cb59-4f99-ba42-05cd300bc8dc) and select Share with Guests ![](https://cdn-assets.productfruits.com//6d22f0d5-7e51-48de-b310-ab60d78d28b8) 
> 
> **Step 3:** Enter the email address of your Guest with whom you want to share the document. 
> 
> > 💡You can also choose to add multiple guests by simply typing additional emails. 
> 
> **Step 4:** Specify the Access Duration in terms of‘ days’ and ‘hours’ and select “Add Guest”. The time for which you can provide document access to a guest ranges from a minimum of 1 hour to a maximum of 99 days and 23 hours. You may also choose to [revoke access](https://help.dox2u.com/en/article/revoke-guest-access) whenever you want. 
> 
> **Step 5:** In the dialogue box that pops us, press “Confirm” to continue with the sharing process or press “Cancel” to abort. 
> 
> Guest Sharing is a powerful tool that is only available in our Enterprise plan. Upgrade Now or contact our Sales team for further information.

### Revoking Guest Access 

> dox2U lets you revoke access to an externally shared document at your convenience. You may either do it by manually revoking the access or by defining a pre-set duration. This revocation is dependent purely on rights. 
> 
> Let us see how - 
> 
> **Step 1:** Select the document that you want to revoke access to. 
> 
> **Step 2:** Click the menu button ![](https://cdn-assets.productfruits.com//bc9860be-8b36-429d-afd1-4e586d95f130) and select Share with Guests ![](https://cdn-assets.productfruits.com//a70f82cc-abb9-49ba-aa18-f5cd58ff4e19). 
> 
> > 💡Alternatively, you can revoke access to a document by clicking 
> 
> **Step 3:** Press the cross icon next to the name of the guest for whom you would like to revoke access.
> 
> ![](https://cdn-assets.productfruits.com//f7bdb0c3-727b-44f6-a250-6d28ae2c4712)
> 
> **Step 4:** In the dialogue box that pops us, press “Confirm” to continue with revoking access or press “Cancel” to abort. 
> 
> > 💡Alternatively, while sharing a document with a Guest, you can choose the duration for which you want to share that particular document. Once this duration elapses, the Guest’s access will be automatically revoked. 
> 
> Learn more about how to share a document with a Guest & choose an access duration [here](https://help.dox2u.com/en/article/sharing-documents-with-guest). 
> 
> > 📓Note:
> > 
> > -   Once their access is revoked, your guest will see a window informing them that they can no longer access the document. 
> 
> ![](https://cdn-assets.productfruits.com//5646bad6-14cc-47b5-8278-4683b03d8f53)
> 
> > -   To restore access for a Guest, you must reshare the document with them.  

### View a Document in Guest Mode 

If you choose to share a document with an external guest, your guest will be notified immediately by receiving an email with a link to the document. 

The email sent to the Guest contains:

-   the name of the person who shared the document with them 
-   the name of the Workspace from which the document was shared, and 
-   The duration for which the document is visible to the Guest i.e. the access duration. 
-   Your guest CANNOT make any edits to the shared document and will also not be able to view the document details or the metadata tags/notes. 

Let’s see how your document will appear to your guest. 

![](https://cdn-assets.productfruits.com//607ef32a-73f6-42b6-9193-83d758d8f08b)
